Linux Tutorials
About Lesson

Run Level:

runlevel is one of the modes that a Unix-based operating system will run in. Each runlevel has a certain number of services stopped or started, giving the user control over the behavior of the machine. Conventionally, seven runlevels exist, numbered from zero to six.

After the Linux kernel has booted, the init program reads the /etc/inittab file to determine the behavior for each runlevel. Unless the user specifies another value as a kernel boot parameter, the system will attempt to enter (start) the default runlevel.

The linux machine run level is used to define what system services are operating. There are seven run levels:
0: Halt the machine

1: Single user mode
2-5: Normal operating mode (user defined)
2 – Multiuser, without NFS
3 – Full multiuser mode
4 – Unused
5 – X
6: Reboot
The default run level for a server should be 3. Run level 3 will start without X (GNOME/KDE/other). To change the default run level on boot you should edit the file /etc/inittab and change the default run level by editing this line:

Init scripts

Init (short for initialization) is the program on Unix and Unix-like systems that spawns all other processes. It runs as a daemon and typically has PID 1.

The /etc/inittab file is used to set the default run level for the system. This is the runlevel that a system will start up on upon reboot. The applications that are started by init are located in the /etc/rc.d folder. Within this directory there is a separate folder for each run level, eg rc0.drc1.d, and so on.


The chkconfig tool is used in Red Hat based systems (like CentOS) to control what services are started at which runlevels. Running the command chkconfig –list will display a list of services whether they are enabled or disabled for each runlevel.

Single User mode is a mode that a multi-user system (like a Linux server) can be booted into the operating system as a superuser. Booting a system into this mode does not start networking, but can be used to make changes to any configuration files on the server. One of the most common usages for single-user mode is to change the root password for a server on which the current password is unknown.

Runlevels are an important part of the core of the Linux operating system. While not something the average administrator will work with on a daily basis, understanding runlevels gives the administrator another layer of control and flexibility over the servers they manage.

Let’s Join our Hacking Team

We Are Indian We Are Great

Hope this article helpful for you. Thank You

Indian Cyber Army | Make IT Secure

Enjoy…Stay Happy…Stay Secure…

Hope this article helpful for you. Thank You

If You Appreciate What We Do Here On Hackonology, You Should Consider:

Hackonology is the fastest growing and most trusted community site where you can find lots of courses, articles about Technology/Hacking/Cracking. Millions of people visit Hackonology! to search or browse the thousands of published articles available FREELY to all.

Let's be a part of Hacker's Community! Join our Hacking Team

We Are Indian We Are Great